Australia Awards Cambodia

20th Anniversary of the Australia Awards in Cambodia

On Friday 21 November, around 400 people, including ministers, government officials, business people, academics and civil society leaders, joined the 20th Anniversary of the Australia Awards in Cambodia. The event was hosted by Australian Embassy and the Australian Alumni Association in Cambodia (AAA-C) at the Sofitel Phnom Penh Phokeethra. The Australian Ambassador, H.E. Alison Burrows, recognised the contribution that all Australian alumni were making to Cambodia’s development, including those who studied in Australia privately. “I congratulate all those alumni who are making a difference in Cambodia, whether as public servants, investors, employers, innovators, or advocates.”

Australian Ambassador, Education Minister, and Environment Minister with departing students for 2015 intake

The Minister of Education, Youth, and Sport, H.E. Dr Hang Chuon Naron expressed his gratitude to the Australian Government for the Australia Awards scholarship program.  
“The Australia Awards is a valuable program that builds human resources in Cambodia, and strengthens relationships between our two countries”.

Australia Awards recipients at the event welcomed the opportunity to connect with old friends and meet many other alumni working to improve Cambodia’s development.

H.E. Say Samal receiving 2014 Alumnus of the year Award

H.E. Say Samal, Minister of Environment, was awarded the 2014 Alumnus of the Year by the AAA-C.  This new award recognises outstanding Australian alumni who have demonstrated their commitment to Cambodia’s development and built strong links between Cambodia and Australia.

H.E. Hun Many, Member of Parliament and Australian alumnus, noted that Australia Awards scholarships are a great opportunity for talented Cambodians to study in Australia and enhance their professional careers.

The AAA-C supports Australian alumni to contribute to sustainable and equitable development in Cambodia and to foster strong relationships between Australia and Cambodia.